General discussion about the sport of hang gliding
Tad Eareckson

bridles

Post by Tad Eareckson »

http://www.chgpa.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=229
Quest Friday, shoulder towing
Lauren Tjaden - 2005/03/05 00:37:37 UTC
Fuck you, Lauren.
Today I experienced a lovely flight, a little 40 minute number to 3100, flown after 3 PM, when the thermals had lost some of their sharp edges. I was brave enough and smart enough not to run when other pilots came in on my tail. Once I got scared enough I let another pilot take my thermal, but I at least stayed on the outside of the circle and came back in after he got higher than I was, instead of punishing myself by marching off to another area in a huff.
He was outclimbing you. Under right of way rules you're OBLIGATED to get the fuck out of his way.
When it's blue, you gotta give up your pride!
I wonder just what it is that makes you think you've ever been entitled to any pride in this sport.
Actually I am just learning a bit about how to fly politely in company.
No doubt whatsoever. You've always been unparalleled in your abilities to get along with people. Unfortunately the sport has always been in desperate need of people skilled in demolishing assholes like you and the assholes you get along with so beautifully.
Landing was interesting with many pilots plummeting from the sky at the same moment, complicated by a small, tempting -- but ultimately unworkable -- thermal, three to four hundred feet over the LZ. Ah, that is what the tug plane is for; you can always try again if it is too challenging and you are in danger pushing it.
Lemme tell ya sumpin', Lauren...

Launching behind a tug is inherently dangerous - especially in thermal conditions and if you don't know what you're doing and are using crap equipment. And you don't know what you're doing and are using crap equipment. So you may wanna think about accepting a little more danger pushing things after a successful (not to be confused with safe) tow.