Skyting demolition

General discussion about the sport of hang gliding
<BS>

Re: Skyting demolition

Post by <BS> »

http://www.kitestrings.org/post9978.html#p9978
Weak links
Tad Eareckson wrote:Hewett was (is) totally fucking clueless with respect to how the tow force vectors actually worked. His bogus hypothesis was (is) that you're effectively connecting to the glider system's center of mass and this would make the glider autocorrecting in roll. (The more out of line you are the better. 'Cause the autocorrecting force keeps getting stronger.)
-- with a one point connection on the harness suspension about a third of the way up from the pilot a lot more elegantly (which is what the Brooks Bridle (developed in the UK around the same time as and totally independently from the Hewett junk) did)
Where'd the UK (beyond Mike Lake) end up on vectors and autocorrecting?

http://www.hanggliding.org/viewtopic.php?p=390454#390454
Are you satisfied with flex wing handling qualities?
OK I'm a newbie to towing but it's that moment that I come off the cart when I feel I don't have a third hand free to dump the line if it all goes wrong and I'm tipped over further than I am confident I can recover from with the wire pulling the wrong way. Doing the 'lockout drill' in level high flight showed me the line certainly wanted to fly the glider but reaching for the release with some height wouldn't be a tenth the problem.

I wondered if just moving my 'bike brake lever' to the basebar rather than having it on the down tube to eliminate the head turn to locate it would help but the place I'd want to put it is used by the cart so that's not on either. I've played at snapping a hand to the tube release on the chest loop but if the line is pulling in a funny direction that could become a fumble. I just don't fancy holding something in my mouth. That's trying to implement a motor skill with no background. I'd worry about it not working under pressure even if it was my 'normal' way to release.