landing

General discussion about the sport of hang gliding
miguel

Re: landing

Post by miguel »

Me? Master landings? Master anything? Nope, I am an eternal student, striving for mastery 8-)
Tad Eareckson

Post by Tad Eareckson »

Then you should've figured out a long time ago that in aviation...
- There's no such thing as mastery.
- Anybody who's striving for it is dangerously delusional.
- Anybody who starts thinking he's achieved it has really crappy prospects for a long career.

My approach evolved along the lines of...

- There's no fuckin' way in hell an asshole like me is ever gonna master anything.

- Therefore I really need to think of ways to maximize the widths of my safety margins to optimize the survival probability for an asshole like me.

That's what these assholes:

http://www.hanggliding.org/viewtopic.php?t=26854
Skids vs wheels
Andrew Stakhov - 2012/08/11 13:52:35 UTC

So I just came back from flying in Austria (awesome place btw). Stark difference I noticed is a large chunk of pilots choose to fly with skids instead of wheels. Conversations I had with pilots they say they actually work better in certain situations as they don't get plugged up like smaller wheels. Even larger heavier Atosses were all flying with skids. I was curious why they consistently chose to land on skids on those expensive machines and they were saying that it's just not worth the risk of a mistimed flare or wing hitting the ground... And those are all carbon frames etc.
...are doing.

Compare/Contrast with a real competitor like Lauren:

http://www.chgpa.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3695
good day until the wreck
Lauren Tjaden - 2008/12/31 04:29:12 UTC

very light conditions at quest. me, paul, dustin, carl and jamie were going to fly out and back but not high enough so we flew around the patch. i worked small lift using carl's tips...he is english where conditions are weak, and is 2nd in world.